Skip to main content

Posts

~Top 5 reasons to read Lakesedge~

  Book Info: Title and Author: Laskesedge by Lyndall Clipstone Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Publishing Date: September 28, 2021 Content Warnings: Emotional and physical abuse by a parent, Body horror, Gore and blood (including a description of wounds), Emesis, Discussions of death and grief (no on-page deaths), Descriptions of drowning and deep water, Drowning-related imagery Self-injury (in the context of a curse that requires regular physical sacrifices), suicidal ideation Synopsis: A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. There are monsters in the world. When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem. There are monsters in the woods. As Leta falls for Rowan, she discove
Recent posts

~To Break A Covenant Review~

  Book Info: Title: To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames Genre: Young Adult Horror Publishing Date: September 21, 2021   Synopsis: Content Warning: Gore! lots of gore/blood (human and animal), body horror (human and animal), claustrophobia, hallucinations/nightmares, death, animal death, parent death (mentioned), parental conflict (being afraid of a parent), mention of alcohol/drinking, mention of self-harm, mention of divorce, mental illness (perceived/actual), mention of child death/killing, mention of suicide, drowning, paranormal activity. Debut voice Alison Ames delivers with a chilling, feminist thriller, perfect for fans of  Wilder Girls  and  Sawkill Girls . Moon Basin has been haunted for as long as anyone can remember. It started when an explosion in the mine killed sixteen people. The disaster made it impossible to live in town, with underground fires spewing ash into the sky. But life in New Basin is just as fraught. The ex-mining town relies on its haunted

The Girls Are Never Gone Review~

 My Tour Spot for The Girls are Never Gone Book Info: Title: The Girls are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh Genre: Young Adult Horror Publishing Date: September 7, 2021   The Girls are Never Gone Book Cover by Sarah Glenn Marsh  Synopsis: Content Warnings: scary images, death The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an internship in a haunted house and finds herself in a life-or-death struggle against an evil spirit. Dare Chase doesn’t believe in ghosts. Privately, she’s a supernatural skeptic. But publicly, she’s keeping her doubts to herself—because she’s the voice of Attachments, her brand-new paranormal investigation podcast, and she needs her ghost-loving listeners to tune in. That’s what brings her to Arrington Estate. Thirty years ago, teenager Atheleen Bell drowned in Arrington’s lake, and legend says her spirit haunts the estate. Dare’s more interested in the suspicious circumstances surrounding her death—circumstances that she

Welcome to my book blog!

  Welcome to my book blog!  My name is Leah, but i go by thebookwiccan on social media where i talk about all things books. If you love reading, predomiently Horror, Young Adult and Thrillers then my blog is going to be for you. But first how about some introductions, here are some facts about me:  I am 26 years old. I go by she/her pronouns.   As well as books, in my spare time i love looking after my animals. In which, i have three doggos, one hammy, one tarantula, one bearded dragon, and one royal python.  I also love video games especially Silent Hill, Dead By Daylight, Resident Evil, Pokemon, and Animal Crossing.  I currently have two tattoos, but want to get more done especially bookish ones!  I am also a wiccan, hence my user name. This is just a short introduction of who I am, I hope we can get to know each other over time. I am wanting to bring all of my reviews onto here, so bear with me :)  I hope you all have a lovely day! xx  My TBR for September- Way too many books!  Here